Get Adobe ReaderA note about viewing streaming video

Transition Programs

The Transition Coalition provides free online training modules created specifically for Missouri. These modules include Missouri information, resources, forms and policies. There are also numerous practitioner-friendly resources and materials available.  The Transition Coalition is a contractor with DESE to provide online and face-to-face training and professional development opportunities for Missouri secondary special educators.

Each of the nine regions of Missouri has a Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) Consultant who specializes in transition. These consultants provide regional and local trainings on Transition Planning and the Updated Form C, Transition Assessment, and other transition topics. They also provide a range of other consulting and continuous improvement services to meet the needs of teachers, administrators and school districts. 

The Missouri Transition Liaison program was developed in 2007-2008 to identify secondary transition professionals from districts across Missouri who are leaders in the area of transition. The overall goal of the Transition Liaisons is to build capacity at the local level and develop a collaborative network of colleagues throughout the state. In particular, the Transition Liaisons:

•  Collaborate with other Transition Liaisons, RPDC Consultants, Transition    Coalition staff, and DESE personnel;
•  Reach out to districts across the state; and,
•  Share information and resources with other district personnel.

To contact a Transition Liaison in your region, please see the Transition Liaison Map and Transition Liaison Directory at the links below.
For more information, please contact Barb Gilpin at the DESE at or Dana Lattin at the Transition Coalition at

The Missouri Interagency Transition Team (MITT) was formed in 2007 to promote interagency collaboration in Missouri at the state-level by establishing a group vision for improving outcomes for young adults with disabilities.  The MITT, consisting of diverse state-level membership (see membership table), meets monthly to share resources, develop goals and promote concrete activities to improved transition education and services.

Community Transition Teams (CTT's) elevate community awareness of and commitment to the improvement of post-secondary outcomes of youth with disabilities. Since 2008, the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) and the KU Transition Coalition have partnered to develop and train 42 CTT's across Missouri. This process is accomplished with the collaboration of school personnel, students, families, and community stakeholders to provide seamless and transparent management of staff and resources. The University of Kansas Transition Coalition provides ongoing technical assistance to the CTT's in their development, training, and in meeting the goals of their strategic plans. During the 2014 school year, training will not be held to develop new teams. Instead, focus is on technical assistance for sustainability. For more information about CTT's, go to

Dr. Ed O’Leary has created the TOP approach to assisting districts throughout the country to meet the IDEA and Indicator 13 transition requirements. DESE has brought Dr. O’Leary and the TOP model to Missouri and about 50 districts have participated in this process including: training, reviewing IEPs, and analyzing district data generated from the IEP review.  Finally, each district receives technical support and assistance in addressing needs related to meeting the transition requirements of IDEA.


































This report analyzes TOP data for program effectiveness in 13 participating Missouri districts over a continuous three-year period from 2007–08 to 2009–10.