CONTACT:  Michele Clark
Communications Coordinator

Vol. 46, No. 10
February 15, 2012

Two Missouri High School Students Selected As Delegates in the U.S. Senate Youth Program

Two Missouri high school seniors have been selected as delegates in the U.S. Senate Youth Program.  Each student won a week-long, expense-paid trip to our nation’s capital and will receive a $5,000 college scholarship for undergraduate studies.

The U.S. Senate Youth Program will be held March 5-12 in Washington, D.C.  The Missouri students will assemble with 102 other delegates to learn about the functions of the federal government.  Throughout their week’s stay, the delegates will visit the Senate, House of Representatives, Supreme Court and Pentagon.  They will meet with their senators and other national policymakers.

The delegates are:

  • Jordan Danielle Duran, Fort Zumwalt High School

  • Mitchell Matthew McMahon, Park Hill High School

The alternate delegates are:

  • Gunnar Tate Johanson, Ash  Grove High School

  • Ymani Chiffone Wince, McCluer North High School

The winners and alternates were chosen by a panel from among eight finalists statewide. 

The panel was comprised of staff from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and The Missouri Bar made the selections.

Nearly 70 juniors and seniors were nominated for the program this year by high school principals from public and non-public schools.  Their nominations were based on academic achievement, school and community leadership and community service.

The annual program was established by the U.S. Senate in 1962 to provide a unique educational experience for outstanding high school students interested in pursuing careers in public service.  Financial support for the program is provided by the Hearst Foundations.