CONTACT:  Sarah Potter
Communications Coordinator


Vol. 46, No. 35
May 10, 2012


Two Missouri Seniors Selected as Presidential Scholars

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selected two Missouri seniors as 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Joseph L. Richey, Park Hill South High School, Park Hill School District, and Corrine A. Yap, Clayton High School, Clayton School District, have been chosen for their academic accomplishments as Missouri Scholars. They have been invited to National Recognition Weekend in Washington, D.C., in June where 141 high school seniors will be recognized and presented with a Presidential Scholar medallion.

"We congratulate Joseph and Corrine on this prestigious award," said Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program brings together an exceptional pool of students each year, and the state of Missouri will be well-represented by these highly-accomplished and hardworking individuals."

The Presidential Scholars are comprised of one male and one female from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad. In addition, 15 students were chosen at-large and 20 students were chosen for their achievement in the arts.

Established by Executive Order of the President in 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program recognizes some of America’s most outstanding seniors. From nearly 3.2 million graduating high school seniors, approximately 3,300 students were identified as candidates in this program. About 550 students were selected as semifinalists and 141 students named Presidential Scholars.

For a complete list of 2012 Scholars or for more information about the Presidential Scholars Program, visit the U.S. Department of Education's website.