CONTACT:  Communications

Vol. 46, No. 23
April 16, 2012

High School Students Receive State Citizenship Award

Fifteen public high school students were honored today by the Missouri State Board of Education and the Missouri Bar as recipients of the 2012 Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award.

The award has been presented annually since 1990.

"This award provides the opportunity to acknowledge Missouri students who exemplify quality citizenship," said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "It is important for students to have a working knowledge of the principles of government and citizenship, as well as be an active participant in their school and local community."

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education conducts the citizenship program with assistance and financial support from the Missouri Bar. Award recipients are recognized during a luncheon at the Governor’s Mansion in Jefferson City and receive a plaque honoring them as outstanding young citizens.

The 2012 recipients are:

    • Kelby Czerwonka, West Plains Senior High School, West Plains R-VII School District
    • Miranda Elliston, Carl Junction High School, Carl Junction R-I School District
    • Betty Goodman, Slater High School, Slater School District
    • Ravali Gummi, Marquette Senior High School, Rockwood R-VI School District
    • Tyler Hays, Neosho High School, Neosho R-V School District
    • Anthony Henderson, Parkway North High School, Parkway C-2 School District
    • Ellie Kidd, Central High School, Cape Girardeau 63 School District
    • Miriam Bohlman Kunz, Webster Groves High School, Webster Groves School District
    • Si Qi (Rocky) Leng, Parkway South High School, Parkway C-2 School District
    • Matthew Lundberg, Francis Howell Central High School, Francis Howell R-III School District
    • Jonathan Rembold, Parkway Central High School, Parkway C-2 School District
    • Ethan Robb, Park Hill South High School, Park Hill School District
    • Maria Smith, Blue Springs South High School, Blue Springs R-IV School District
    • Connor Tinen, Eureka Senior High School, Rockwood R-VI School District
    • Rebecca Walka, Meadow Heights High School, Meadow Heights R-II School District

The awards were presented by Russell Still, a member of the State Board of Education; Ron Lankford, deputy commissioner at the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; and Lynn Whaley Vogel, president of the Missouri Bar. To view photos of the awards presentation, visit the Department's Facebook page.

Every public high school in Missouri is eligible to nominate one senior for the citizenship award. Students are selected on the basis of their academic achievement in civics and government courses, performance in civics and government-related extracurricular activities, and exemplary community service. Students also must submit an essay about the importance of citizenship. The applications and essays are scored by members of the Advisory Committee on Citizenship Education, which is part of Missouri Bar’s Citizenship Education Program.

For more information about the Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award, contact Bill Gerling, social studies consultant for the Department, at 573-751-0398, or Millie Aulbur, director of law-related education for the Bar, at 573-635-4128.