CONTACT:  Michele Clark
Communications Coordinator

Vol. 45, No. 34

April 27, 2011

Missouri Celebrates Service-Learning at State Capitol
Inspire by Example awards will be presented to students during Missouri Service Day events.

More than 700 students, teachers and service-program participants from across the state will gather tomorrow (April 28) at the State Capitol in Jefferson City for the 15th annual Missouri Service Day.

This celebration will recognize Missourians who participate in AmeriCorps and Learn and Serve America, two grant-based programs under the federal Corporation for National and Community Service, as well as other school-based service-learning programs. School-based service-learning combines meaningful service to the community with classroom studies in a way that improves student learning and strengthens the community. Students work in collaboration with community members, teachers and classmates to meet real community needs while applying core concepts from the classroom curriculum.

Several students who participate in service-learning will be honored for their efforts with the Inspire by Example Service-Learning Award. This year’s recipients are:

  • Tanner Olson, Hannah Roney, Hannah Stotts, Samantha Stover, Levi Terrel and Taisia Zeger (Chillicothe Middle School, Chillicothe School District)
  • Antonia Middle School Character Council Service-Learning Committee (Fox School District)
  • Molly Buasri (CODE Program, Hickman Mills School District)
  • Justin Beasley, Fashion Bittick, Denise Hodges, Devaney Houston, Heather Kelley, Trent Knowles, Brett Lyke, Sarah Maire, Benjamin McGrail, Kendra Smith and Geena Wickers (Jefferson City Academic Center, Jefferson City School District)
  • Grant Hastings (Point Elementary School, Mehlville School District)
  • Mrs. Poe’s and Miss Thompson’s third grade classes (Heber Hunt Elementary School, Sedalia School District)
  • Maunika Harper, Katelin Knox, Tyler Root and Shy Tackett (Whittier Alternative High School, Sedalia School District)
  • Dessira Barrett, Jessica Barrett, Taylor Engleman, Kayla Gjerde, Paige Highley, Dustin Isom, Jordan Jennings, Matt Lauramore, Danna Lyons and Jordan McAdams (Bailey Alternative High School, Springfield School District)
  • Allyse Pagano (Troy Ninth Grade Center, Troy School District)
  • Jeremy Conley, Brittany Counterman, Dylan Hanke and Linda Lingle (Troy Buchanan High School, Troy School District)

The Inspire by Example awards will be presented at noon on the Capitol’s south lawn and are sponsored by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, the Learn and Serve Missouri office and the Missouri Service-Learning Advisory Council. (In the event of rain, activities will take place at the Truman Building in Room 490/2.)

For more information, contact Erika Brandl, supervisor of service-learning programs for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, at 573-526-5395.