CONTACT:  Michele Clark
Communications Coordinator

Vol. 45, No. 77

Sept. 16, 2011

Schools Earn National “Blue Ribbon” Honors

Four public elementary schools in Missouri have been selected as 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education. A total of 304 schools earned national honors this year — 255 public and 49 private — according to the announcement made this week by Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Among the Blue Ribbon schools are:

Center Elementary School
Ralls R-II School District (Ralls County)
Tammy Angel, principal

Crestwood Elementary School
Lindbergh School District (St. Louis County)
Scott Taylor, principal

Kirbyville Elementary School
Kirbyville R-VI School District (Taney County)
Addie Gaines, principal

Roosevelt Elementary School
Farmington R-VII School District (St. Francois County)
Justin Callahan, principal

The national award honors schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress to close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

“We commend the students, teachers and community members for earning this prestigious recognition,” said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. “Their quest for excellence and high level of performance serve as an inspiration for us all.”

The schools were among those recognized earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Since 1982, more than 6,500 of America’s schools have received the coveted Blue Ribbon Schools Award. Both national and state programs are part of larger efforts to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices.

This year’s Blue Ribbon Schools winners will be formally recognized Nov. 14-16 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.