CONTACT:  Michele Clark
Communications Coordinator

Vol. 44, No. 81

November 15, 2010

Teacher of the Year Finalists Will Be Honored Tonight in Jefferson City

Missouri’s Teacher of the Year for 2010-11, Robert “Bob” Becker, from the Kirkwood School District, will be honored by state education officials this evening in Jefferson City.  The five state finalists in this year’s program also will be recognized.

The recognition banquet begins at 6:30 p.m. at the Capitol Plaza Hotel.  A reception for all of the state finalists, their families and other guests begins at 5:30 p.m.  The reception is sponsored by Missouri’s professional teacher organizations.

Awards will be presented by David Liechti, St. Joseph, president of the State Board of Education; and Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. 

Mr. Becker teaches chemistry at Kirkwood High School in the Kirkwood School District.  He was selected in August to represent Missouri in the annual National Teacher of the Year program.

Five other outstanding public school teachers were chosen as state finalists and will be honored at tonight’s banquet.  They are: 

  • Rebecca Gooding, a fifth grade math teacher at Eagle Glen Intermediate School, Raymore-Peculiar School District.

  • Doug Logan, a social studies teacher at Carl Junction Junior High School, Carl Junction School District.

  • Abby Lowe, a kindergarten teacher at David Harrison Elementary School, Springfield School District.

  • Lori Mathys, a fourth grade teacher at Chesterfield Elementary School, Rockwood School District.

  • Lori Merrigan, a fifth grade teacher at Underwood Elementary School, Lee’s Summit School District.

The Missouri Teacher of the Year program is conducted by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.  Major support for the program is provided by the Boeing Company of St. Louis.