CONTACT:  Michele Clark
Communications Coordinator

No. 44, No. 70

September 9, 2010

Schools Earn National “Blue Ribbon” Honors


Two public high schools in Missouri have been selected as 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced today.  A total of 304 schools earned national honors this year – 254 public and 50 private – out of more than 135,000 public and private schools in the nation.

Among the Blue Ribbon schools are:

Chadwick High School

Chadwick R-I School District (Christian County)

Diana Comstock, principal

North Shelby High School

North Shelby School District (Shelby County)

Harold T. Eckler, principal

The award honors elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

“We commend the Chadwick and North Shelby high schools for this prestigious recognition,” said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro.  “Their students, teachers, school administrators and community members deserve accolades for attaining this high level of student achievement.”

The schools were recognized earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

This year’s Blue Ribbon Schools winners will be formally recognized November 15-16 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.