Director, Public Information

Vol. 44, No. 47

June 7, 2010 


“High Schools That Work” Program

Honors 690 Missouri Seniors

Missouri high school seniors who qualified for the “High Schools That Work” 2010 Award of Educational Achievement are receiving certificates this month.  The 690 students completed a challenging program of high school courses and demonstrated their readiness for employment or college studies.

The HSTW Award of Educational Achievement recognizes high school graduates who follow a path that leads to success instead of “just getting by.”  Students qualify by completing a college-prep course of study in at least two of three subject areas (English/language arts, mathematics or science); completing a concentration in a career/technical area, mathematics/science or the humanities; and meeting readiness goals in all three subject areas on the HSTW assessment.

HSTW is a whole-school, research- and assessment-based reform effort for grades 9-12, established by the Southern Regional Education Board.  It is supported in Missouri by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. 

The HSTW assessment, administered to seniors in even-numbered years, provides comprehensive data about student achievement and their perceptions of school and classroom experiences. The results help schools and state education officials determine what is and isn’t working to increase student achievement.

In Missouri, nearly 4,000 students at 64 schools completed this year’s assessment.  The total includes assessments taken at area career centers which are implementing the “Technology Centers That Work” program.  TCTW is a specialized version of HSTW, which has been tailored to reflect the needs of a shared-time career-education facility and its students. 

The percentage of students qualifying for the HSTW Award of Educational Achievement in 2010 is nearly double that earning this recognition in 2008.

High Schools That Work, a Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) initiative, is the largest high school improvement effort in the United States, with more than 1,100 school sites in 31 states.  HSTW is supported by member states and grants from organizations, such as the Wallace Foundation, Goldman Sachs Foundation, the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, Carnegie Corporation, Whitehead Foundation and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  SREB was founded in 1948 as America’s first multi-state compact for education.

For more information, contact Doug Sutton, DESE director of career education initiatives at 573-751-4192.


These Missouri schools took part in the “High Schools That Work” assessment:

Arcadia Valley School District, Ironton

              Arcadia Valley High School

              Arcadia Valley Career Technology Center

Ava High School

Bakersfield High School

Belle High School

Bismarck High School

Boonslick Technical Education Center, Boonville

Bowling Green High School

Bunker High School

Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center

Carrollton High School

Carthage Career Center

Caruthersville High School

Cass Career Center, Harrisonville

Cassville High School

Central R-III High School, Park Hills

Crest Ridge High School, Centerview

Davis H. Hart Career Center, Mexico

East Newton High School, Granby

Eldon High School

Farmington High School

Fatima High School, Westphalia

Festus High School

Fredericktown High School

Hazelwood School District

              Hazelwood Central High School

              Hazelwood East High School

              Hazelwood West High School

Herndon Career Center, Raytown

Hickman Mills School District, Kansas City

              Hickman Mills High School

              Ruskin High School

Holden High School

Hollister High School

Independence School District

              Truman High School

              William Chrisman High School

Jackson High School

Kennett School District

   Kennett High School

   Kennett Career and Technical Center

Lee’s Summit School District

              Lee’s Summit High School

              Lee’s Summit North High School

              Lee’s Summit West High School

              Summit Technology Academy

Lexington High School

Mehlville High School

Monett High School

Odessa High School

Perry County School District

              Perryville High School

              Perryville Area Career and Technology Center

Pike/Lincoln Technical Center, Pike County R-III, Eolia

Pleasant Hill High School

Poplar Bluff High School

Potosi High School

Raymore-Peculiar High School

Seneca High School

South Central Career Center, West Plains

Southwest R-V High School, Washburn

Special School District of St. Louis County

              North County Technical High School

    South County Technical High School

Sullivan High School

Tipton High School

Troy Buchanan High School

Waynesville High School

West St. Francois County High School, Park Hills

Willow Springs High School

Winfield High School