Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.


You are here

Cassville Works Toward Educator Equity with "Grow Your Own" Teacher Recruitment

Rural districts in Missouri face special challenges as they recruit public school teachers. The local school workforce is well established and will experience significant retirement turnover trend as those teachers exit. Younger residents may be thinking about moving to larger cities for greater career and social opportunities if the local school district does not promote strong community engagement. Cassville R-IV, a rural district in southwest Missouri, has developed a homegrown effort to persuade its graduates to come back to the area to teach.

Department Hires Assistant Commissioner for Office of College and Career Readiness

The Department selected Dr. Blaine Henningsen as Acting Assistant Commissioner in the Office of College and Career Readiness. Dr. Henningsen joined the Department in July of this year as the director of the Pathways to Prosperity Network.

“We are fortunate to have Dr. Henningsen serve on the leadership team, as he brings a wealth of education experience from different regions of Missouri,” said Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven.

Missouri’s Scores Hold Steady in Nation’s Report Card, State Rank Improves

Missouri assessment scores in reading and math remained steady in 2015. However, national averages fell slightly from 2013 levels according to data released Wednesday from the National Center for Education Statistics.

The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) assesses fourth- and eighth-grade students across the country in math and reading every two years.  Missouri’s 2015 scores were not statistically different than those in 2013. More than 2,000 Missouri students were tested in each subject/grade.

Third Public Hearing on Education Standards Held Monday

The third public hearing on recommendations from academic standards work groups formed under HB 1490 took place Monday afternoon in Jefferson City.

Work groups presented their recommended standards to the State Board of Education followed by a public comment session.

“High academic standards are critical for the success of Missouri’s children,” said Missouri Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “We encourage everyone to read the proposed standards created by parents and educators and provide feedback.”

Third Public Hearing on Education Standards Scheduled

The third public hearing on recommendations from academic standards work groups formed under HB 1490 will be held from 1-3 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 26. The hearing will be held in the State Board of Education meeting room on the first floor of the Jefferson Building, 205 Jefferson St. in Jefferson City.

Seating will begin at noon. The meeting will be held in the Board room with an additional overflow room.

Missouri Student Information System Receives “Good” Rating in Recent Audit

The Missouri Student Information System (MOSIS) received a “good” rating in a recent audit conducted by the Missouri State Auditor’s Office. The auditor’s office defines a good rating as indicating that the system is well managed, the report contains few findings, and that most or all recommendations have already been or will be implemented.