Home schooling is one of the options available for meeting the state's compulsory attendance law, Section 167.031, RSMo. However, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education does NOT regulate or monitor home schooling in Missouri. Neither the State Board of Education nor the Department has authority to issue regulations or guidelines concerning home schooling. There is no registration required with the State of Missouri or with our Department. The Department does not provide any curriculum for home schoolers, nor any advice about available online programs. The Department does not accredit home schooling.
- Please read our list of frequently asked questions: Home Schooling Frequently Asked Questions
According to Section 167.031 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, a parent or guardian of a child, between the ages of seven (7) and seventeen (17) years of age, shall cause the child to attend regularly some public, private, parochial, parish, home school or a combination of such schools. Any parent may educate a child at home. The parent does not need a teaching certificate or need to meet any education requirements in order to provide home instruction.
If a parent decides to home school, he or she must offer 1,000 hours of instruction during the school year, with at least 600 hours in the basics, which will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. At least 400 of the 600 hours shall occur in the home location.
- Home school education enforcement and records pursuant to this section, and sections 210.167 and 211.031, RSMo, shall be subject to review only by the local prosecuting attorney.
A parent who is home schooling a child must maintain the following records:
- A plan book, diary, daily log, or other written record indicating the subjects taught and the activities engaged in with the student;
- A portfolio containing samples of the student's academic work;
- A record of evaluation of the student's academic progress; or
- Other written, or credible evidence equivalent to a, b, and c.
- The school year is defined as beginning July 1 and ending the next June 30.
- Children with disabilities attending a home school program may receive special education services provided by the local school district, in accordance with Section 162.996 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, and the State Plan for Special Education.
- Section 167.042 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, states that a parent or guardian may notify the superintendent of schools or the recorder of county deeds, in the county where the child legally resides, of their intent to home school. This is to be done before September 1 annually. Home-schooled students do not register with the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.
Revised Statutes of Missouri Related to Home Schooling
Sections 162.996, 167.031 through 167.071, and Section 210.167 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri provide the framework for home schooling in Missouri.
- Section 162.996
Handicapped children attending private, parochial, parish or home schools, districts may provide special educational services--state aid, how calculated.
- Section 167.031
School attendance compulsory, who may be excused--nonattendance, penalty--home school, definition, requirements--school year defined--daily log, defense to prosecution.
- Section 167.042
Home school, declaration of enrollment, contents--filing with recorder of deeds or chief school officer--fee.
- Section 167.061
- Penalty for violating compulsory attendance law.
- Section 167.071
School attendance officers in seven-director districts, powers and duties--powers of police officers in certain areas.
- Section 210.167
Report to school district on violations of compulsory school attendance law--referral by school district to prosecutor, when.