Get Adobe ReaderA note about viewing streaming video


Archived FedPro Message

SUBJECT:  Parent Involvement Webpage and Requirement Reminders

LISTSERVE MESSAGE DATE:  May 11, 2010

It’s May!  That means schools will be preparing to end another school year.  This is to let you know we have redesigned the Parent Involvement webpage.  It should be much easier to find items to send home to parents, sample letters, compliance information, resources, and other information.  A button to the Parental Involvement webpage is on the Federal Programs’  webpage, and the link to the Parental Involvement page is  http://dese.mo.gov/divimprove/fedprog/parental_involvement/ .

Some of the required yearly notices that LEAs and Title I schools must send to parents are the –

These could be placed in the LEAs or building’s handbook that all parents receive.

Also identified there are the requirements for the Title I School Building’s Parental Involvement Plan/Policy and the School-Parent-Student Compact.  These are to be reviewed and revised with parent input.

There is still time to conduct a parent questionnaire to obtain input for the evaluation and planning of your Title I program for next year.  It is a requirement of Title I to obtain and use parents’ input in program planning as part of the needs assessment.  Asking questions such as the following should help.

 

Parental involvement requirements are identified on the NCLB Self-Monitoring Checklist at the following link  http://dese.mo.gov/divimprove/fedprog/documents/MO5002336.pdf  and in the Administrative Manual.

If you have further questions you may contact your Grants Management supervisor below.

Julia.Cowell@dese.mo.gov  -  573-751-8289 Central Missouri

Eron.Foster@dese.mo.gov  -  573-751-9124 St. Louis area

De.Frink-Hedglin@dese.mo.gov -  573-522-6268 Northeast Missouri

Kyle.Heislen@dese.mo.gov  -  573-526-2582 Southeast Missouri

Kelly.Kempker@dese.mo.gov  -  573-751-8281 Kansas City area

Janet.McLelland@dese.mo.gov  -  573-751-6762 Southwest Missouri

Theresa.Villmer@dese.mo.gov  -  573-751-4888 Northwest Missouri

 

Mary C. Pearce

Core Data Supervisor, Federal Programs

SES Contact

Phone:  573-526-4472

Fax:  573-526-6698

Email:  Mary.Pearce@dese.mo.gov