Get Adobe ReaderA note about viewing streaming video

School Governance and Facilities

The Certificate Required for Each Course or Grade Taught, Along with Course Names, Course Codes and Course Abbreviations

This information provides a list of classes by course code, course name, abbreviation for the course and the certificate required to teach the course.  All certification must be for the proper grade level unless it specifies otherwise in the certificate required column.  The above information is available in Exhibit 10 of the 2003-2004 Core Data Manual.  Certification requirements for the middle grades are found below.  

Middle School Teaching Certificates

The following information is taken from a memorandum issued by Commissioner Robert E. Bartman in January 1995.  The information is still valid and provides clarification for middle school certification.


K-8 Elementary Certificate

Individuals holding K-8 or 1-8 elementary certificates may teach in all core areas in grades 5 and 6 in either   self-contained or departmentalized middle school programs.  They may also teach departmentalized classes in English, social studies, developmental classes in English, social studies, developmental reading, computer literacy, basic skills, and at-risk classes in grades 5-8.  Individuals holding K-8 or 1-8 elementary certificates are not eligible to teach departmentalized classes in math or science at the 7-8 grade levels.

4-8 Middle School Certificate

these are subject area specific certificates.  Individuals holding these certificates may teach in departmentalized programs in their subject area(s) only--Language Arts, social studies, mathematics, science.

7-9/7-12 Secondary Certificate

Individuals holding subject area specific certificates including those in fine arts, practical arts, vocational and physical education may teach in their subject area(s) in departmentalized programs to students in grades 5-9.

Guidance and Counseling

Individuals holding a 7-12 guidance certificate may provide counseling services to students in grades 5-12.  Individuals holding a K-8 guidance certificate may provide counseling services to students in grades K-8.


Individuals holding either an elementary or secondary principal's certificate may serve in the position of middle school principal regardless of the grade arrangement--6-8, 5-8, 4-8, 4-7, etc.

Grade Level Expansion

Individuals holding K-8, 1-8, 4-8, 7-9, or 7-12 certificates who desire a grade level expansion to their certificate must document completion of the minimum of eight (8) semester hours in approved areas of middle school psychology, curriculum/instruction and philosophy/organization and obtain an approved institutional recommendation.

September 1, 1997

Middle school teachers certificated after September 1, 1997, must hold a middle school certificate appropriate to their subject area and grade level assignment.