Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the new and improved website, and we welcome your feedback.

Pathways to Prosperity

Hot Topics 2015

* Due to unforeseen circumstances the Bridges/Pathways Conference for March 2-3 at Tan-Tar-A has been canceled.  Please contact Kristie Davis is you have any questions.

Hot Topics 2014

Missouri is one of nine states selected by the Harvard Graduate School of Education and Jobs for the Future to participate in the Pathways to Prosperity Network, a national education initiative designed to build career pathways systems for high-school-aged students.

Pathways to Prosperity directly relates to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s Top 10 by 20 plan, which calls for all students in the state graduating from high school to be college and career ready. The Top 10 by 20 program aims for student achievement in Missouri to rank among the top 10 states by 2020.

For every 100 students in Missouri, only 21 will earn a four-year degree. Pathways to Prosperity: Meeting the Challenge of Preparing Young Americans for the 21st Century, released by the Harvard Graduate School of Education in February 2011, challenged the excessive focus on the four-year college pathway, arguing that additional pathways need to be created that combine rigorous academics with strong technical education to equip the majority of young people with the skills and credentials to succeed in the increasingly challenging labor market.

The enormous interest generated by the Pathways report led to the launch of the Pathways to Prosperity Network. Other states participating in the Pathways to Prosperity Network are California, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Tennessee.

Pathways to Prosperity - Commissioner Nicastro with St. Louis Public School students

Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris Nicastro pictured with St. Louis Public School students who earned certificates in civil construction technology at Linn Technical College, allowing them to work as part of Missouri Department of Transportation's road crews during summer 2012.